Program Committee

Conference Convenor:

picture of C K Prahalad
C. K. Prahalad

... is the Paul and Ruth McCracken Distinguished University Professor at the Ross School of Business, University of Michigan. He specializes in corporate strategy and has received honorary doctorates from ...


picture of Charles Dhanaraj
Charles Dhanaraj

... is an Associate Professor of Management, Schmenner Faculty Fellow in International Business, at Richard Ivey School of Business, University of Western Ontario. His research revolves around globalization, innovation, and collaboration ...

picture of MB Sarkar
MB Sarkar

... is currently an Associate Professor of Strategy at the University of Central Florida. His research and teaching interests center on innovation, technology entrepreneurship and international strategy ...

India Co-Chairs:

picture of Rishikesha Krishnan
Rishikesha Krishnan

... is a Professor of Corporate Strategy & Policy at IIM Bangalore. His research interests are in strategy, innovation, and competitiveness. ...

picture of Sougata Ray
Sougata Ray

... is a Professor of the Strategic Management Group at Indian Institute of Management, Calcutta (IIMC). He is currently on sabbatical from IIMC and heading the innovation initiatives at Infosys Technologies Limited ...

Academic Program Chair:

picture of Prashant Kale
Prashant Kale

... is currently Associate Professor of Strategic Management with the Jones School of Management, Rice University. He is also a Research Fellow with the Mack Center for Technological Innovation at the Wharton School and a Faculty Associate with ...

Faculty Consortium:

picture of Gerard George
Gerard George

... is Professor of Innovation and Entrepreneurship who serves as the Director of the Rajiv Gandhi Centre at Imperial College in the UK. He is AIM Innovation Fellow of the UK's Economic and Social Research Council ...

picture of Phanish Puranam
Phanish Puranam

... teaches in the Strategy and International Management Area at the London Business School. He is also Co-Director of the Aditya V. Birla India Research Centre at the School, which functions as the nodal point for the SchoolÕs India related research programmes ...

Doctoral Consortium:

picture of Raveendra Chittoor
Raveendra Chittoor

... is an Associate Professor of Strategic Management at Indian Institute of Management-Calcutta. His research has thus far focused on issues pertaining to internationalization of Indian firms, family businesses and entrepreneurship ...

picture of Ram Mudambi
Ram Mudambi

... is Professor and Perelman Senior Research Fellow at the Fox School of Business at Temple University. Previously he served on the faculties of Case Western Reserve University, the University of Reading (UK), and the University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill ...

picture of KR Narayanan
KR Narayanan

... obtained his Ph.D in Economics from the Delhi School of Economics, Delhi, India, and carried out Post-doctoral research at Institute of Advanced Studies United Nations University, Tokyo, Japan ...

picture of Jasjit Singh
Jasjit Singh

... is a member of the Strategy faculty at INSEAD, where he teaches topics such as Core Strategy, Global Strategy & Management and Innovation in the MBA, EMBA, PhD and Executive programmes ...

Senior Faculty Consultative Workshop Chairs:

picture of Prashant Salwan
Prashant Salwan

... is a faculty member in the area of International Business and Marketing at the Indian Institute of Management, Indore. He chairs the International Business area and the Indian Multinational center. ...

picture of Sankaran Manikutty
Sankaran Manikutty

... is a professor at the Indian Institute of Management in Ahmedabad. He has instituted a number of management development programmes and has also conducted or taught in company specific executive development programmes ...

Advisory Committee:

picture of Richard Bettis
Richard Bettis

... is Luther Hodges Distinguished Professor at Kenan-Flagler Business School, University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill. He is the past president of the SMS Board of Directors and served as co-chair of the SMS 21st Annual International Conference in San Francisco ...

picture of Stephen Floyd
Stephen Floyd

... is a Director of the Institute of Management and a Chaired Professor of Strategic Management at the University of St. Gallen. In 2005, his co-authored paper on political activities received the SMS Best Conference Paper Prize ...

picture of Mike Hitt
Mike Hitt

... is a Distinguished Professor and holds the Joseph Foster Chair in Business Leadership and the C W & Dorothy Conn Chair in New Ventures at Texas A&M University. Currently, in addition to serving as President of the Board for the SMS, he is coordinator of the SMS Book Series ...

picture of Kavil Ramachandran
Kavil Ramachandran

... is the Associate Dean at the Indian School of Business. He received his Ph.D from Cranfield, U.K. Ramachandran is also a Thomas Schmidheiny Fellow of Family Business and Wealth Management, and was previously with the India Institute of Management-Ahmedabad ...

picture of Harbir Singh
Harbir Singh

... is the William and Phyllis Mack Professor of Management, and Co-Director of the Mack Center for Technological Innovation at the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania ...

Strategic Management Society

India Initiative

2008 Special Conference

2010 Bangalore Workshop

2011 Calcutta Workshop